Thursday, 22 February 2018

This note will self-destruct in 10 seconds!

If only it were true - you read out a note to a customer and somehow the system knows, and automatically deletes it!

Sadly, this is not the case - and we need to delete the note ourselves.

I'm sure we've all experienced the embarrassment of diligently reading out a note to a customer, only to be told "I already knew that!"

PLS are encouraging all libraries to have a blitz on clearing old/irrelevant notes.

Certainly our opportunities to look at customers' records decreased dramatically once we went to RFID.... but when you do get the chance, please take an extra moment to look over any notes and delete any that are no longer relevant.

Be wary of notes placed by other libraries however, and only delete those which are along the lines of "Please tell customer...." etc and not any that relate to their own workflow.

And also remember to change the customer's status to REINSTATE.

A tidy database is a thing of joy, so let's get cleaning!